GSO Test

EYFS - Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years and Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS) is for children aged 0 - 6.  In Nursery and Reception classes the children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. This involves play based activities and experiences for children in the following seven areas, the three areas in bold are considered the ‘prime’ areas of learning:

  • Communication and language development 
  • Physical development  
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy development
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Each of these areas has its own learning goals. By the end of Reception most children should have made significant progress towards achieving these goals.   You can view the statutory framework for the EYFS here.  

There is lots of  information about the Foundation Stage on the government page 'Supporting Families in the Foundation Stage'

 View the EYFS curriculum planner here.